Celebrate Owen


February 3, 2008, 9:36 pm
Filed under: In Celebration
Owen James Lyttle
April 28, 1953 – January 28, 2008
Formerly of Cambridge, ON, most recently of Sooke, B.C.
“There is no better goal than this one: to know as you lie on your deathbed that you have lived your true life, and you did whatever made you happy.”
(Steve Chandler)Owen James Lyttle, cherished son, brother, uncle and friend slipped quietly from this life as he slept at home while recovering from a recent and unexpected heart attack.A gifted craftsman and multi-talented artist, Owen is known for his passion for story telling, photography, music and woodworking. Owen was a man of many interests whose investigative mind fueled his love of reading and thirst for knowledge. Friends in his adopted home of Sooke B.C. nicknamed him Obi-Wan, in respect for his genuine and freely imparted wisdom and his ability to enrapture a crowd with his adventurous stories. An incessant photographer, Owen studied photography at North Island College, Victoria, B.C. and went on to develop his own unique style through experimentation. In a room full of friends/family, with a guitar, flute or violin in his hand, his smile was the only light needed. From hand-carved doors and trim work to impeccably tooled original guitars, with his creative mind and skilful hands, Owen brought wood to life.

Owen loved his privacy, his freedom to be and to follow his muse.
Yet, he also loved to spend time with his many, many friends, to share their joys and sorrows, to be there for them at any cost. He loved his family, who are all ever so grateful to have had him in their lives. He laughed, loved and infected others with his joyous spirit wherever he went.

Comforted by the reality that Owen lived his true and happy life are: his parents, Ann and Jim Lyttle, his siblings, Deb Mowatt (Bill), Terry Lyttle (Dale), Linda Watson (Don), nephews and nieces, David (Jacqueline), Justin (Kelly), Carey (Mike), Wayne (Jacinthe), Becca (Kevin), Sarah (Russ), Christine, Theresa, Adam & Liam, grand nieces and nephews, Alex, Anthony, Bailey, Ryan, Zander, Emma, Sara and Mason, and dearest friends Malcolm, Pierre, Dave and the crew at Clarkston Construction.

Owen’s life will be celebrated in Cambridge and in Sooke by friends and family following cremation and as arrangements permit. For updated information or to leave a message for family and/or friends, please return here and keep a place in your heart for Owen.

19 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Owen was my brother but most importantly my friend. He was a complex person who truly loved his family and friends. He never had children of his own but he had a natural way of talking to kids that put them at ease. He treated them as people not children and talked to children as he would any adult. He never talked down to anyone. He had a great intellect that came out when ever he was speaking to just about any topic. I was able to talk to Owen openly about anything I needed to. Spending time with him was always a special treat for me as he lived away from me for so many years. Since I was a small child I sort of idolized him, being the little sister that was always there, but he never complained when I was around and so I had a great many friends because he let me be in his social space when we were teens.
I will miss him always but I am comforted that since his passing I have come in contact (or reconnectd) with so many wonderful people who have been with him these past years. I am looking forward to going to Sooke and seeing where he has lived and meet the people who have shared his life.
Thank you Malcolm for your support and your love.
Thank you Pierre, Dave and Michael for the same. I don’t think the family would be able to cope if it wasn’t for your support. Please know that Owen loved you all.
I hope everyone remembers Owen for his stories, wisdom and sincerity he shared with everyone he knew.
I love you Owen.

Your little sister Linda

Comment by Linda Watson

Jim & Ann:

May we extend to you and yours our depest sympathies on the loss of your son Owen.Our thoughts and love are with you at this time.
Ray & Sharon

Comment by Ray & Sharon Johnson

Owen, my old school mate…….guess you’re partying with Rob, Ralph & Paul, now………wish you much love & happiness on your journey……I will truly miss you.
Mr & Mrs. Lyttle….my deepest heart felt sympathies…….may God give you strength….peace……love…..Owen was & is ONE COOL MAN !!

Comment by Lou Loewen

Hi, Lyttle family, i am really sorry to hear about Owen, though i have not seen him for a long time, i have wonderful memories of your welcoming home and your generosity.Like Linda i too was included in Owens social circles and like to think that those days shaped me as a person.My Dad’s obit is beside Owen’s in the record, but i had been told by fiends. I am proud to say i knew him.I will keep watching the site, take care Clyde

Comment by Clyde Carruthers

To Owens Family
I have not seen Owen since school. He was taken away much to early, but reading his obituary I see that it is not how long you live, but how you live life that counts. He was truly loved by all.
Our deepest sympathy goes out to all of you.
Carol (Beke) Goreing and Michael Vale

Comment by Carol (Beke) Goreing

Ahhh..Owen! Man! I haven’t seen you since HIgh School. But I have always remembered you and your Killer Smile! You’re one Kewl Dude! I will miss you! What a wonderful life you have achieved…we can all learn from that!
To Owen’s family, my heartfelt Sympathies & Condolences…alot of people will remember Owen! He is One of a Kind! God Speed Owen…Party On!!
Save a place for me, eh?

Comment by Heinz Loewen

Linda, Don and the entire Lyttle family

Linda, now and then we run into each other and catch up on the news of our families. The last time we met I remember you being with your parents and we all had a little chat. I was saddened to read of Owens passing and hope you find comfort from all your friends, family and loving memories of Owen. Peace be with all of you.

Diane Turner

Comment by Diane Turner

“I believe that imagination is stronger than knowledge — myth is more potent than history — dreams are more powerful than facts — hope always triumphs over experience — laughter is the cure for grief — love is stronger than death.”
Owen was my uncle, who I loved and admired. He will be missed. I can probably count on both hands how many times I have seen him in my entire life but I remember everyone of them. Everyone has a family get together attached, and to us family is everything. When Owen would come home no matter where any of us were, we would all gather together. He was our occassion, and for that I am grateful.
Things I remember most: No matter how old you were he would beat you in monopoly, taking a short walk took a whole day, everything in nature deserves to have it’s picture taken, and material things never make a person.
Both Russ and I are thankful he was able to make it to our wedding last summer. He was the paparazzi but every time I would see him take another picture I smiled cause I knew how far he had come to share it with us.
Thank you for teaching us all the importance of family, of passion and of life.
Till we meet again :)
Love you
Sarah & Russ

Comment by Sarah

How do you say Good-Bye to the soul that was Owen Lyttle? For me as “his favorite niece whose name was Carey”, you collect your thoughts, most precious memories and moments, and smile through the tears.
Uncle Owen was a teacher; not only about how to live a life, but even little things that were so mundane that all you could do was laugh. Like, for instance pretending to catch a fly and eating it, reading books upside down and backwards, never letting you win at board games, stealing a little girls hat and wearing it. These little things along with many others were Uncle Owens life and gift to me.
Although so far away from us in daily life, the time I spent with Uncle Owen when he would come home, kept me knowing as an Uncle he never failed me or broke my heart; that was and is more than enough.
It’s not and will never be the same again without being able to wait for the occassion when Uncle Owen comes home again.
To all his “family” in the Sooke; I wish you well.
As the point awaits you physically, I know your soul’s essence remains in what I remember and can see through the life’s eyes of your photography.
I love you and will forever miss you, Uncle Owen.
Love Carey
( and great nephew Anthony)

Comment by Carey

O.J.
You are my brother and my friend. That doesn’t end with death.

To Owen’s friends, the Lyttle family truly appreciates the kind words and the amazing support we have been shown. Thank you all. Messages can also be left in the guest book at Legacy.com and you can check both sites for updates on memorial services, etc.

Deb Mowatt

Comment by Deb Mowatt

To Ann,Jim and family,
our most heartfelt condolences.
Joanne and I have many fond memories of all of you and especially Owen. It has been many years since we had seen Owen, but we constantly talked about him and wondered what he had been up to.

We heard many fantastic stories. (and didn’t doubt any of them)
Never have we met such a colourful and interesting person. Owen had such a strong passion for life and learning, nothing he achived would surprise us.
My eariest memory of Owen was knocking on the door on Monroe street and introducing myself. That was the start of a wounderful chapter in my life.Such great music. Such great stories. Such great plans to change the World. The Coolbadadios, CARP, Galt music festival,flute lessons…man what a life and that was before 20yrs old.

I always thought I would have the opportunity to see you again Owen. And I will. Another place, another time my friend.

Love Joanne & Peter

Comment by Joanne & Peter Hughes

The last time I saw Owen was quite awhile ago, in fact, it was nearly 10 years ago. We were at his parents 50th Wedding Anniversary. I remember my Mom (his aunt Joyce) was so happy and exicted to see him. It was so nice to be able spend some time with him. It was such a wonderful evening, and we laughed alot.

Owen was my cousin and although we have only met a couple of times in our lives, I will always cherish and remember the few, but enjoyable times we spent together.

My thoughts and prayers are with the entire family….

“May the Lord of Peace himself, give you peace, at all times and in every way.” ~ 2 Thess 3:16

Love to you all, and to my dear cousin Owen,
You will be truely missed.

~ Melanie Oslund

Comment by Melanie Oslund

I am going to leave a Psalm from the Bible below. From what I have been told, it has been recited at every Lyttle funeral in family for many years.

PSALM 23

1. The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.
2. He lies me down in green pastures, He leads me to quiet waters,
3. He restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.
4. Yea, though I may walk in the valley of the shadow of death,
I fear no evil, for thou art with me,
thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me.
5. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.
6. Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord, forever.

Comment by Melanie Oslund

I am sadened by Owen’s death. He was so young. I have been keeping in touch with my brother Jim, and I’m sorry we that we can’t be there for the memorial service.

I haven’t seen Owen in years. The last time I saw him was also at Jim & Ann’s 50th Wedding Anniversary. The first thing he said to me was “Here comes Auntie Joyce lookin’ for a hug…” He had his arms wide open and always gave me a great big one. I loved Owen’s hugs. I will remember him best for that.

Love to all,
Aunt Joyce Parcher (nee Lyttle)

Comment by Joyce Parcher

Owen was a very close friend to my family and always came for thanks giving I am very sorry that he will be so missed this year.he was a great man all around always taking pictures and coming to visit no matter how far he even drove my mother to the hospital the day I was born cant thank him enough!he sure will be missed by many
Love always Kelle baker

Comment by Kelle Baker

Owen was a dear friend of ours Sorry that we didn’t find out till today. We saw Owen every couple of years. He would pop by and visit while on his way to other friends He will be miss by both of us . We will be thinking of you this Thanksgiving Owen and you have a place at the table Love Ya Buddy Gail aand Gary

Comment by Gary and Gail Allercott

I have known Owen since 1976 when I first came outwest from Ontario. We met and became instant friends and have kept in contact and shared many good times together. I was in shock when I got a return call from Pierre Owen’s room mate telling me what happened. I left Owen a message on the answering machine asking him to come for Thanksgiving as we’ve done for many years, I even started a to do list for him as he always helped me with small repairs I couldn’t do myself. Owen will be missed not only by me but by many close friends that have always considered Owen part of their family. Owen was always layed back, with a good sense of humour. He was one of the most interesting people I knew, great carpenter, photographer, artistic and I miss him already. My thanksgiving supper was just not the same without him at the table. Here’s to you Owen my friend xxxxx I hope to see you in that special place. Love Virginia vgordon151@hotmail.com

Comment by Virginia Gordon

Heart felt sympathy to the Lyttle family…. My husband and I knew Owen for a long time. Always with a smile and a positive outlook, he should have been a preacher. Keep it lively where ever you old friend and we’ll see you again.

Comment by cindy &mike rowley

So happy to have heard from so many good friends and family who loved Owen. It’s been one year and I still can’t believe he’s gone. Miss you brother.
Deb Mowatt
d.mowatt@sympatico.ca

Comment by Deb Mowatt, Owen's older (little) sister




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

